Athlete Profile: Chad Bruce

Chad Bruce

Athlete: Chad Bruce

Lives City/State: Eastvale, Ca.

Go to Orange Mud Gear: HQVP2-2.0 / BPVP-70-2.0

Primary Sport: Ultra Marathons 

Tell us a bit about yourself. What’s your passion, your joy in life, anything special you’d like to share.

I’ve been married for 24 years to my high school sweetheart Gail and we have four beautiful girls (19, 15, 12, 9). I own a sign company that my Great Grandfather started in 1930, my wife and I serve together in the Couple’s Ministry at our church and I love running trails.

What sports do you participate in?

Trail Running, Road Running and Golf

What is your favorite race food?

Honey Stinger Waffles, Gels and Chews are in my pack. Avocado Wraps at aid stations are amazing!

What is your go to hydration mix?

Fluid Sports Nutrition

Do you have a major quirk you’d like to share?

I’ve been told that I talk too much…. 

If you were related to an animal, what would it be?

My wife says “Stallion” because I love to run so I’ll go with that J…

If a newbie to your sport asked for one piece of advice, what would it be?

Running is a blessing so enjoy the scenery!

Do you have any racing pet peeves? (Gel packets, mud, thorns, smelly runners, etc).

Outhouses with no TP… Slow Runners/walkers starting road races at the front of corrals.

Impolite runners/mountain bikers that don’t say “HI” when you pass on the trails….

What do you do for fun?

Spending Time with my family, serving in ministry with my wife, running/hiking beautiful trails with my running buddies and taking lots of photos

What is your post-race ritual?

Mexican Food and lots of it!…

How long have you been running?

I started running in 2012 to run a Tough Mudder with family and some great friends.

Why do you enjoy the sport? 

I love being in the hills, spending time with friends, competing and working hard with others to achieve our goals.

What's your favorite trail race?

It’s a tie for me: Ray Miller 50 & the Chimera 100k

What's your favorite local trail?

Many Routes on Mt. Baldy.

What's your go to piece of Orange Mud gear and why?

The VP2 2.0 is my favorite race pack, it’s amazing!! I can pack everything I need in it and I love having my nutrition in one bottle and water in the other bottle. It’s a great way to keep track of what nutrition I’m taking in while keeping my hands free.

Profession and educational background?

Business owner and Graduated from Etiwanda High School

What is your biggest accomplishment in your sport?

Two things:  1) My cousin Elliott and I ran the 2018 Avalon 50 and were able to run the entire race together. It was amazing running side by side with him for 50 miles on a beautiful Catalina day!  2) I was 1st male, 2nd overall at the 2017 Chimera 100k. The trails are unreal and I had my best race to date. It was an amazing day!

Do you have a set training schedule and if so, what's it like?

If not, how do you decide what to do? I love to race a lot, so I schedule my running around my next race. Normally 125-150 Miles per month and I try to run in the hills as much as possible.

What's your dream race? 

The Tahoe 200

Favorite book for athletes?

Hal Koerner’s Field Guide to Ultra Running

Do you listen to audiobooks or music during exercise?

I do listen to music when I run and I watch YouTube videos of Ultras/Documentaries while I work out at home.

What advice would you give to a new runner coming into the sport? 

Learn what you can from experienced runners, read books/magazines/etc to gain knowledge to get a good foundation early, stay hydrated and enjoy every mile because running a blessing!

Where do you draw your inspiration from?

The Lord, my family and all the awesome runner friends that are always inspiring me to keep pushing my limits.

Have you struggled with any injuries? How do you manage them? 

I raced Motocross for 17 years, so I’ve got screws in my right leg, tore my right ACL, had my Spleen removed and have had many other injuries during that time of my life. I’m 44 years old and I’m very thankful to be able to run pain free most of the time. I tend to run/workout 4-5 days a week and have scheduled rest days to try to keep my body healthy and rested. Not having a spleen forces me to have a pretty strict diet to keep my immune system as strong as possible.

Anything else you’d like to share? 

Being on the Orange Mud Ambassador Team (The Dirt Unit) has been amazing! It has boosted my confidence in so many ways and all the OM gear is unreal! No way I’d be doing what I do without their support and all my teammates that inspire me every day. Such an amazing company and group of great individuals!!

What was the best advice you were ever given? 

Treat others the way you’d like to be treated! 

What is your favorite local running or biking store?

Fleet Feet Sports, Rancho Cucamonga

Links

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/cbruce78/

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/chad.bruce.54

Twitter: https://twitter.com/cbruce78/

Strava: https://www.strava.com/athletes/15681469